Bewegliches Vorwärts – translation of Rilke’s poem

Rainer Maria Rilke: Bewegliches Vorwärts (German)

Die tiefen Teile meines Lebens gießen vorwärts, als ob die Flußufer
sich heraus öffneten.

Es scheint, daß Sachen mehr wie ich jetzt
sind, das, das ich weit in Anstriche sehen kann.

Ich fühle näeher
an, was Sprache nicht erreichen kann.

Mit meinen Richtungen,
wie mit Vögeln,
klettere ich in den windigen Himmel,
aus der Eiche,
in den Teichen heraus,
die vom Himmel meine fallenden Wannen abgebrochen
werden, als ob, stehend auf Fischen.

The Forwards That Moves

(my translation)

the deepest parts of my life are pouring forwards,
as if the riverbank
were opening outwards.

It seems that things are more, than I now am.
things, which I see as distant brush strokes.

I feel closer to that which
speech cannot reach.

With my sense of direction,
as with birds,
I climb into the windy skies,
out of the oak
into “ponds”,out there,
which are disconnected by my sense of falling,
as though they rested on the fishes.

2 thoughts on “Bewegliches Vorwärts – translation of Rilke’s poem

  1. princemyshkin says:

    heinous! this is weird: the “German” is actually a translation back into German, of a very unscrupulous translation of the original by Robert Bly. This is garbage. I will post the original, and a new translation here soon.

  2. … and still, I find beauty in it …

Leave a Reply

