Clairaudience

Clairaudience *

– Robert Musil (translated by Kameron Cole, Miami Beach, 2012)

I’ve gotten into bed a little early, I feel a cold coming on, indeed, maybe I even have a fever. I am looking at the ceiling, or, maybe it’s the reddish curtain hanging over the door to the balcony of the hotel room that I’m looking at. it’s hard to tell.

just as I had finished undressing, you started, too, to get undressed. I wait. I can only hear.

Incomprehensible back and forth; in this part of the room, then in the other. You come over to lay something on the bed; I don´t look, but, what could it possibly be? In the meanwhile, you open the closet, put something in, or take something out; I hear the closet door close again. You lay hard, heavy objects on the table, others on the marble countertop of the bathroom sink. You are incessantly in motion. Then I recognize the familiar sounds of the letting down of hair and of brushing. Then water splashing into the sink. And before that. slipping out of clothing. now, once more. it is incomprehensible to me, how many clothes you take off. Now you have slipped off your shoes. but then after that, your stockings continue the relentless back-and-forth across the soft carpet, just as did your shoes , before. You pour water in glasses; three, four times, one after the other; I am at a complete loss for why. I have long come to the end, in my imagination, of everything imaginable, while you apparently in reality continue to find something new to do. I hear you put on your nightgown. But that doesn’t mean it’s all over. There are still one hundred little activities. I know that you are hurrying on my behalf; apparently all of this is indeed necessary, pertains to your most intimate “Id”, and like the wordless bearing of animals, from morning till evening you reach far into a thing, with countless talons, of which you are unaware, while you hear barely a breath from me.

I feel this way coincidentally because I have a fever, and because I am waiting for you.

* (http://www.psychic.com.au/psychic-clairaudience.htm)

Hellhörigkeit

– Robert Musil

Ich habe mich vorzeiting zu Bett gelegt, ich fühle mich ein wenig erkältet, ja vielleicht habe ich Fieber. Ich sehe die Zimmerdecke an, oder vielleicht ist es der rötliche Vorhang über der Balkontür des Hotezimmers, was ich sehe. es ist schwer zu unterscheiden.

Als ich gerade damit fertig war, hast auch du angefangen, dich auszukleiden. Ich warte. Ich höre dich nur.

Unverständliches Auf- und Abgehn; in diesem Teil des Zimmers, in jenem. Du kommst, um etwas auf dein Bett zu legen; ich sehe nicht hin, aber was könnte is sein? Du öffnest inzwischen den Schrank, tust etwas hinein oder nimmst etwas heraus; ich höre ihn wieder schließen. Du legst harte, schwere Gegenstände aud den Tisch, andere auf die Marmorplatte der Kommode. Du bist unablässing in Bewegung. Dann erkenne ich die bekannten Geräusche des Öffnes der Harre und des Bürstens. Dann Wasserschwälle in die Waschbecken. Vorher schon die Abstreifen von Kleidern; jetzt wieder; es ist mir unverständlich, wieviel Kleider du ausziehst. Nun bist do uas den Schuhen geschlüpft. Danach aber gehen deine Strümpfe auf dem weichem Teppich ebenso unablässig hin un her wie vordem die Schuhe. Du schenkst Wasser in Gläser; drei-, viermal, hintereinnder; ich kann mich gar nicht zurechtfinden, wofür. Ich bin in meiner Vorstellung längst mit allem Vorstellbaren zu Ende, während du offenbar in der Wirklichkeit immer noch etwas Neues zu tun findest. Ich höre dich das Nachthemd anziehn. Aber damit is noch nicht alles vorbei. Wider gibt es hundert kleine Handlungen. Ich weiß, daß du dich meinethalben beeilst; offenbar ist das alles also notwendig, gehört zu deinem engsten Ich, und wie das stumme Gebaren der Tiere vom Morgen bis zum Abend ragst du breit, mit unzähligen Griffen, von denen du nichts weißt, in etwas hinein, wo du nie eiene Hauch von mir gehört hast!

Zufällig fühle ich es, weil ich Fieber hae und auf dich warte.

Leave a Reply

